Your cart

Your cart is empty

The Evolution of the WNBA

The Evolution of the WNBA

Since its establishment in 1996, the Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA) has evolved significantly, offering elite female athletes a prominent stage and leading the charge for transformation in women's sports, earning respect, admiration, and a passionate global fan base.

The Beginning of the WNBA

In the mid-90s, the idea of a women's professional basketball league was gaining momentum. The success of the 1996 Summer Olympics, where the USA Women's Basketball Team won gold, showcased the extraordinary skills and competitiveness of female athletes. It was a significant moment in women's sports, with icons like Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, and Sheryl Swoopes leading the way.

In 1996, the WNBA was officially launched, marking the beginning of its inaugural season in 1997 with eight teams. The top eight teams, determined by the highest winning percentage, would qualify for the playoffs, which were structured with the First Rounds as 2-1, while the Semi-Finals and Finals followed a 2-2-1 format.

The WNBA Finals are the height of women's professional basketball in the United States, representing the season's competition. This championship series typically takes place in early fall and features the top two teams from the league's regular season, who have battled through the playoffs to earn the right to compete for the WNBA championship trophy. The series is often a best-of-five format, where the first team to win three games is crowned the champion. The Houston Comets won the first WNBA championship with a 65-51 victory, signaling the bright future of the league.

A League of Firsts

The WNBA has been a pioneer in promoting gender equality in sports. It was the first professional women's league to establish a players' association. In 2009, it became the first professional sports league to sign a collective bargaining agreement that addressed maternity leave, setting new standards for women athletes in professional sports.

The Modern WNBA

As the league celebrates its 27th season in 2023, the modern WNBA stands as a testament to the increasing growth and evolution of women's professional basketball that now reaches 12 official teams. Today, the WNBA features some of the world's most exceptional athletes, celebrated not only for their basketball skills but also for their activism and advocacy off the court. WNBA players have used their platform to advocate for causes such as racial equality, gender equity, and LGBTQ+ rights, making a lasting impact not only in sports but in society at large.

The 21st century has seen record-breaking viewership and increased fan engagement, indicating a growing appreciation for women's sports. Memorable moments, highlights, and player stories are readily accessible, making it easier than ever for fans to follow and support their favorite teams and players. With expanding opportunities and a passionate fan base, the modern WNBA continues to gain popularity and inspire the next generation of young girls.

The W25

In honor of the league's 25th season in 2021, 'The W25' featured the 25 most exceptional and influential players in WNBA history. Fans had the opportunity to cast their votes for the WNBA's Greatest of All Time (GOAT) from a list of 72 nominees, ultimately Diana Taurasi receiving the honor.

Members of the W25:

  • Seimone Augustus  - Minnesota Lynx (2006-2019), Los Angeles Sparks (2020)

  • Sue Bird  - Seattle Storm (2002-present)

  • Swin Cash - Detroit Shock (2002-2007), Seattle Storm (2008-2011), Chicago Sky (2012-2013), Atlanta Dream (2014), New York Liberty (2014-2016)

  • Tamika Catchings  - Indiana Fever (2002-2016)

    • Tina Charles - Connecticut Sun (2010-2013), New York Liberty (2014-2019), Washington Mystics (Present)

      • Cynthia Cooper - Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2003)

        • Elena Delle Donne - Chicago Sky (2013-2016), Washington Mystics (2017-Present)

          • Sylvia Fowles - Chicago Sky (2008-2014), Minnesota Lynx (2015-Present)

            • Yolanda Griffith - Sacramento Monarchs (1999-2007), Seattle Storm (2008), Indiana Fever (2009)

              • Brittney Griner - Phoenix Mercury (2013-Present)

                • Becky Hammon  - New York Liberty (1999-2006), San Antonio Stars (2007-2014)

                  • Lauren Jackson - Seattle Storm (2001-2012)

                    • Lisa Leslie  - Los Angeles Sparks (1997-2006, 2008-2009)

                      • Angel McCoughtry - Atlanta Dream (2009-2016, 2018-2019), Las Vegas Aces (2020-Present)

                        • Maya Moore - Minnesota Lynx (2011-2018)

                          • Nneka Ogwumike - Los Angeles Sparks (2012-Present)

                            • Candace Parker - Los Angeles Sparks (2008-2020), Chicago Sky (Present)

                              • Ticha Penicheiro - Sacramento Monarchs (1998-2009), Los Angeles Sparks (2010-2011), Chicago Sky (2012)

                                • Cappie Pondexter - Phoenix Mercury (2006-2009), New York Liberty (2010-2014), Chicago Sky (2015-2017), Los Angeles/Indiana (2018)

                                  • Katie Smith - Minnesota Lynx (1999-2005), Detroit Shock (2005-2009), Washington Mystics (2010), Seattle Storm (2011-2012), New York Liberty (2013)

                                    • Breanna Stewart - Seattle Storm (2016-Present)

                                      • Sheryl Swoopes - Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2002-2007), Seattle Storm (2008), Tulsa Shock (2011)

                                        • Diana Taurasi - Phoenix Mercury (2004-2014, 2016-Present)

                                          • Tina Thompson - Houston Comets (1997-2008), Los Angeles Sparks (2009-2011), Seattle Storm (2012-2013)

                                            • Lindsay Whalen - Connecticut Sun (2004-2009), Minnesota Lynx (2010-2018)

                                              The 2023 WNBA Finals: Aces vs. Liberty


                                              AP Photo/Jessica Hill

                                              The Las Vegas Aces and the New York Liberty faced off in the WNBA 2023 Finals. The Aces emerged victorious beating New York Liberty 70-69 in game 4, winning their first championship in franchise history.

                                              WNBA Teams (12) in the League:
                                              • Atlanta Dream
                                              • Chicago Sky
                                              • Connecticut Sun
                                              • Indiana Fever
                                              • New York Liberty
                                              • Washington Mystics
                                              • Dallas Wings
                                              • Las Vegas Aces
                                              • Los Angeles Sparks
                                              • Minnesota Lynx
                                              • Phoenix Mercury
                                              • Seattle Storm

                                              The Future of the WNBA


                                              Each season, the WNBA continues to become more global, reaching a wider audience. This evolution of the WNBA is an ongoing journey, empowering, and its impact will continue to be felt for generations to come.

                                              New to the world of the WNBA or a supporting fan? Explore our exclusive range of The Wild Collective x  WNBA Merchandise and showcase your support for your favorite teams and players in style!

                                              Previous post
                                              Next post